Today's gala is named in memory of Kay Clarke. Kay was a Bedworth Disabled Swimming Club Committee member and was very involved with the club for over 30 years, until she sadly passed away in June 2012 from cancer. She is very much missed by everyone at the club and the committee have named the gala in honour of all of Kay's hard work. Kay would have been very proud to have the gala named after her and even prouder of everyone who is involved and taking part.



A very warm welcome to all the swimmers from:

Leicester Kingfishers Coventry Phoenix Tamworth Unicorns Woodlands School Bedworth Disabled Swimming Club

Your officials today:

Reception / registration Barbara Lanwarne

Marshals Megan French / Jenny Wilkins

Starter: Nathan Blundell
Judge: Stephanie Lovick

Chief timekeeper: Pete Carey

Timekeeper 1: Claire Markham

Timekeeper 2: Chris Birch
Timekeeper 3: Jamil Saleem
Timekeeper 4: Natalie Gardner

Timekeeper 5: Debbie Blakemore
Timekeeper 6: Geoff Barnacle
Runner: Chris Hubbard

Results Sheila Carey
Medals: Alec Clarke

Lesley Ryan Julie Hodge Cara Smith

Georgina Smith



Raffle:

The Structure of the Gala

Classification

Briefly, swimmers have been classified by their clubs as

Group A Disability that does not affect swimming strokes

Group B Disability that does affect swimming strokes, but can participate with minimum assistance

Group C Very severe disability (carers allowed in the water)

Seeding

Swimmers have been seeded to give a competitive swim. There are no finals and so swimmers in races with heats should be aware that medals are awarded on a time basis. There are gold, silver and bronze medals for each race number.

<u>Strokes</u>

Front: Any stroke on the front (ie backstroke is not allowed - it is not a freestyle race).

Back: Any stroke on the back. Please remind swimmers to stay on their backs until the very end of the race.